Skip to content
April 19, 2011 8:13 pm / takingbacksingle

Just chop it off already

Every time I go to get a haircut, I always get this urge to do something different, chop it all off! But as I look into the mirror, I panic and decide to just get another trim. What if I will look like a boy? Will men not find me attractive anymore?

In our society, hair is viewed as one of the ultimate symbols of femininity. As my little brother told me when he was five years old, “Girls have long hair and boys have short hair, that’s the only difference. If you cut your hair short you become a boy, and if you grow it out you become a girl.”

Most of my life I have had long (at least collar bone length) hair. My hair is thick and chestnut brown with a slight wave and I always get compliments on it. My freshman year of college I decided that I wanted to change it up and got a shoulder length bob- still not very short by most standards. Although I thought I looked very chic and stylish, I found myself wondering if I looked less feminine. I ended up growing it back out.

I was talking to a couple of girlfriends about this the other day, and they all agreed. One of them even said that when she had announced to her boyfriend that she wanted to get a pixie cut, he had protested, convincing her to keep it long.

Anyways, the point is that I think we should care less about what guys think and more about what we want. I bet most guys would not say no to Emma Watson (who looks adorable in her short hair, in my opinion). I’m not ready to go chop off my locks quite yet, but who knows what the future will brong. As Emma was quoted, “Feels incredible… I’ve wanted to do this for years and years; it’s the most liberating thing ever.”

Leave a Reply

