Skip to content
April 20, 2011 11:06 pm / takingbacksingle

Flaunt what your mama gave you


I’m a confident person. I hesitated before typing this because for some reason confidence (especially for women) is seen as a bad thing in our society. Take the time a skinny but insecure sorority girl asked me about my  least favorite feature, and I said that I don’t have one. She was both stunned and insulted. How come I did not want to partake in the “bonding” activity of complaining about my body?

I used to participate in these conversations, until I realized that this is so dangerous. Complaining about our bodies will only bring us unhappiness and lower our already low self esteem.

I used to have a lot of body issues. I hated my big hips, my “hairy” arms, the bump on my nose, my small forehead… I could go on forever with this list. It seemed that every time I got over one issue I found a new one.

This was until one day, when I was poking at my “huge” hips that I realized that under the thin layer of fat, there was bone. And unless I underwent some extreme plastic surgery, I could never get rid off my hip bones, no matter how much weight I lost or how much I went to the gym. Same with that bump on my nose. The point is, that yes we can gain or lose some weight, or put on makeup to cover the zits, but besides that our bodies will not change. They will stay with us our entire life. And since there is nothing we can do about them, why not love them? That is what I decided to do. Of course, every once in a while, I go back into my old ways, but then I remind myself that this is who I am and it will not change. Worrying will just make me feel bad, and I do not like feeling bad.

I know the path to loving your body is a hard and long one, but just starting by realizing that no matter how much you cry over your “imperfections” they are there to stay, you are on the right path.

Or in Lady Gaga’s words:

I’m beautiful in my way,

‘Cause God makes no mistakes,

I’m on the right track baby

I was born this way.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Miriam / May 18 2011 3:22 pm

    You’re so right. I used to hate the fact that I have such a big butt, until I realized that guys love it and girls envy it. It may make it difficult for me to find pants and skirts that fit, but it’s still an asset..pun not intended.

Leave a Reply

