Skip to content
May 18, 2011 2:40 am / takingbacksingle

Do you believe in “The One”?

I found this image on someecards (by the way, great website for procrastination) and thought it was pretty funny.

On the same note , there is always a lot of talk of finding “the One,” or your soulmate. I feel a bit skeptical about this notion. I don’t believe there is one person out there for me, but rather many people I can fall in love with. People look for different things at different times in life, and if I met the guy I dated in high school today I would probably think he was a loser who put too much gel in his hair.

At the same time, though, there is something appealing about thinking that there is a destined person out there for everyone. There is something magical about “Serendipity.” For those of you that haven’t seen it, it’s about two good looking people that have a special encounter and then through a maze of ridiculous events end up finding their ways back to each other right before they are both getting married.

Well I’m not quite sure what I think about fate and destiny, I guess I will have to wait and see how my life plays out…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Posky / May 27 2011 2:52 pm

    I’m skeptical too. I’ve had to much fun with too many people to think that there is only one perfect fit.

    The one is who you want to be the one, simple as that.

    Some people get married to their one, some people stalk them, some people have plenty of ones.

    The ones are out there, it’s just a matter of keeping them.

    • takingbacksingle / May 27 2011 4:53 pm

      I think everything is what you make of it. You can find someone that is perfect for you, but if you don’t treat them right, they will not be your “One”.
      I actually started laughing when I read “some people stalk them”. So true, is someone your “One” if you aren’t theirs?

Leave a Reply

