Skip to content
May 29, 2011 10:31 am / takingbacksingle

Dare to wear: Maxi Dress

The maxi trend is very in this summer and although I’m not one to follow trends, I am in love with this one! I love maxi dresses because they make me feel very pretty and feminine and they also look very classy. I bought my very first maxi dress last summer and although I fell in love with it in the fitting room, it took me a while to get the courage to wear it. I felt intimidated by the length and flowiness of it, and felt that it would make me look frumpy, but once I gave it a shot I never looked back. Here is some advice on how to pull off the trend just as well as these starlets have.

The dress: I love maxi dresses with spaghetti straps or pretty details up top which balances out the length of the dress as well as highlights my shoulders and collarbones (sexy!). As for length, I know some people prefer them to just touch the ground, but I find it more practical to hit my ankles, since I don’t have to worry about the dress getting dirty or torn at the bottom. It also gives me an opportunity to show off my shoes, which is always a plus. I love maxi dresses with pretty floral patterns or fun colors because they are really eye catching and fun.

Shoes: I prefer wearing neutral flats or gladiators so as to not take away any attention from the dress.

Accessories: Same goes here, some plain gold or silver bangles can be cute as can a plain necklace if the neckline is low.

I bought my first maxi dress from the Gap last year, a gorgeous deep green dress with purple, yellow and white flowers and silver thread embroidery. Although they aren’t still selling that dress, here is another cute dress currently on sale for $78. If that is a bit expensive, Old Navy also sells some cute dresses that you might want to check out. Other stores to look in include Urban Outfitters, Banana Republic, Ann Taylor and Free People.

What do you think of the Maxi Dress trend? Do you feel like you would wear one after reading this?

http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=13658&vid=1&pid=836613

Leave a Reply

