Skip to content
June 26, 2011 11:45 pm / takingbacksingle

Dare to wear: high waisted pants

When I was in high school I was all about low waisted pants. At the age when I was just discovering my sexuality, they seemed sexy and besides they were all I could find at American Eagle. But lately I got sick of constantly having to pull up my pants and of the muffin top that often follows the hiphuggers and decided to buy my first pair of high waisted jeans. Now I love them! I’m not talking the infamous “mom jeans” here, but rather the ones you can get at Urban Outfitters. Reasons why I love high waisted jeans:

  • No butt cleavage showing or muffintop
  • They make your legs look so long!
  • They can make a normal outfit look really fashionable without much effort.
How to wear:
I like high waisted pants to be fitted but not skin tight to keep them looking classy. I prefer skinny or straight leg styles over the flares because I think the flared ones create a strange body proportion. Though someone told me flared ones balance out big hips, I have curvy hips and I like skinny/straight pants jeans to show them off! As for the top, a flowy blouse or button down shirt looks great tucked in. If you’re not a big fan of tucking in shirts you don’t have to but then you don’t get the whole mile-long-legs effect.
Finding the right pants:
To emphasize the style of pants, darker solids are great and really versatile. But the other day I found these awesome white/ denim striped ankle high waisted pants that I love! They look so chic with a simple white shirt. Overall, if your pants are a neutral solid, feel free to wear a fun top but if they are patterned or a bright color keep the top simple in order to not overwhelm the outfit.
These are the panth that I bought the other day. What do you think? I like wearing them folded at the bottom a couple of times as I think without the length is a bit awkward.
Emma Roberts rocking black high waisted pants with military boots. Not so sure about the guy in the background though.
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Life without mascara / Jun 30 2011 6:29 pm

    I love high-waisted pants! They are perfect for showing off the hips and waist. Low rise is the enemy of anyone with full hips, as far as I can tell! Just as long as we avoid “mom butt,” I think that anything high-waisted is great.

    –Nicole

    • takingbacksingle / Jun 30 2011 8:36 pm

      Yeah it took me a while to figure out that low rise pants don’t look good on me. High waisted pants are awesome and they look super cute too!

Leave a Reply

