Skip to content
August 1, 2011 7:48 pm / takingbacksingle

Saying bye to Facebook

Well I’m not exactly quitting Facebook, but I’ve decided to set a limit on how much I go on Facebook before I turn into this crazy woman!

Reasons why I want to spend less time on Facebook

  • I don’t even enjoy going on there after the first minute or so when I read any messages I’ve received
  • Once I go on, I always end up spending twenty minutes or more
  • I feel as if I could do more productive things with my time
  • I feel stalker-ish looking at old acquaintances photos and wall posts (especially, checking out what my exes are up to in a moment of weakness)

So let me try this experiment: I’m going to check my Facebook only once a week and see how it goes. I was thinking of just deactivating my account but I still want to keep in touch with all the people I’ve met and don’t see on a daily basis. I’ll keep you guys updated.

Do you feel addicted to your Facebook and if so what do you do to limit your time?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thelilprince / Aug 8 2011 5:10 am

    yes im addicted and i give in completely 😦 yes, i could be more productive… tell me if it works for you! :p

    • takingbacksingle / Aug 10 2011 12:56 am

      So I did give it a try. Turns out the once a week goal might have been a bit too ambitious. I’m now doing once a day which has worked out pretty well.
      There’s also a computer program called Self Control which you can install on your computer and it will block access to websites you choose (Facebook) for a certain period of time. It’s really good!

  2. Globe Trotter in Lingerie / Dec 4 2011 10:21 am

    Do they make Self Control for phone calls to certain phone numbers so you can keep yourself from drunk dialing/texting an ex in a moment of weakness! LMAO, maybe we should invent an App! I’d buy it….

Leave a Reply

