Skip to content
August 15, 2011 12:43 am / takingbacksingle

Why I don’t wear makeup

I don’t wear makeup! Apparently this is something that is considered weird in our culture. It’s not that I am one of those tomboys who does not care too much about their appearance. I like dressing up and am pretty girly overall but I just don’t see the point of makeup.

I wore makeup for a couple of years in high school but grew sick of it. I could never see that much of a difference with it, and mascara or eyeliner made my eyes itch. Once I took it all off I never looked back. In our culture, putting on lipstick is considered the ultimate womanly act. I think that is screwed up. Apparently a woman is not feminine enough the way she is born, but she has to put stuff on her face to be a “real” woman.  So what’s next, you can’t be a woman if you don’t get a boob job or liposuction. Being a woman is in your DNA and has nothing to do with wearing make up. Think about the word in itself: make up. It makes up something that is not there to begin with.

Why can’t beauty be appreciated the way it is meant to be, in its natural form? Do we need to put paint on a rose to make it more vibrant? Should we put concealer on a baby to even out her skin? These ideas strike most people as ridiculous because they are.

A friend once told me that she wears makeup to job interviews because it’s more “hygienic”. Since when is putting on mascara, which could contain bacteria to give you pink eye hygienic? Since when is putting a gooey red paste on your lips, which will inevitable end up inside your mouth hygienic? I read a recent article that there are chemicals in many makeup products that can cause cancer. And isn’t the work place the one place where you should be judged for your credentials and intelligence, not your looks?

Maybe makeup has made the standard of beauty higher. But men are considered attractive without having to do much to their faces. If people stopped wearing make p, maybe the average person would be a little bit less attractive but so what? (I have seen many people who look less attractive with raccoon eyes and caked on powder than they would have looked au naturale).

So maybe I’m a bit biased. I’m pretty and have clear skin. But I doubt smearing on foundation on acne is going to make it look any prettier or make it clear up. Maybe I just don’t understand and others find it harder to break away from our society’s unnatural norms. But at least I’ve done something for myself. Without makeup I feel prettier, because I know it’s the real me. And if I’m not pretty enough for some employer or guy, then screw them.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. hugsandkissesx / Aug 15 2011 1:03 am

    Wow, really good post! I love makeup but I totally understand your point of view.!

  2. bonkasaurus / Aug 15 2011 1:28 am

    I can go days without makeup, i like to give my skin a break. I have friends that need to wear tons of makeup before leaving the house its ridiculous. But i love doing my makeup it helps enhance my features and definitely makes me look more awake. naturally i have dark bags under my eyes and my eyelashes are straight so i look tired.

    -Bianca at http://theinbetweengirls.wordpress.com/

    • takingbacksingle / Aug 15 2011 1:12 pm

      Yeah, not wearing make up is definitely better for the skin (even if it’s just once in a while), though make up companies try to advertise their foundations as good for you. Thanks for reading!

  3. Caroline / Aug 15 2011 1:44 am

    You have a wonderful view on beauty 🙂

    • takingbacksingle / Aug 15 2011 1:13 pm

      Thanks! I’m a pretty confident person, but I wish more girls and women would feel the same way. It’s a great feeling to be happy with yourself as you are.

Leave a Reply

