Skip to content
August 26, 2011 3:57 pm / takingbacksingle

When you can’t trust the police

Since I was little, my mom always told me that I can trust the police. If I got lost, they could help me find my way home. I was amazed when I learned about dictatorships all over the world, where the police may arrest you for your political beliefs or for no reason at all.

So I was appalled when I read this New York Times article of how a Manhattan police officer raped a woman at gunpoint last week. Only a couple months ago, there was a case of two cops accused for sexually assaulting a drunk woman. Though I was not quite sure what to make of it, the fact that these accusations are popping up is extremely disturbing!

The fact that women are not safe walking outside at night is already disturbing, but the fact that now the people that are supposed to be protecting the innocent are also perpetuating sexual violence. Of course, not all cops are sexual predators, but the fact that any cases at all are happening is not acceptable. 

If I’m walking down an empty street and saw a man following me I would run. But if I saw a cop, I would feel safe and might even approach him. I assume that the woman assumed the cop was not going to hurt her, so when she saw him, she did not run away.

I’m not sure what needs to be done to solve this problem. Maybe the police department need to have tougher criterion. Maybe there needs to be tougher laws for convicted rapists. Maybe media needs to stop objectifying women all the time, so that young men don’t only think of women as sex objects. I don’t know what needs to happen, but something needs to be done.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. typefashion / Aug 27 2011 12:32 am

    Its unfortunate and I truly feel bad for the victims. And I think more people should echo what you wrote about so that we can nip this in the bud itself!

    xoxo

    http://typefashion.wordpress.com/

    • takingbacksingle / Aug 27 2011 1:42 pm

      Yes, it needs to get out there, and I think the NYPD (and other departments as well) need to implement a project to get to the cause of this issue and figure out how to eliminate it.

Leave a Reply

