Skip to content
September 25, 2011 2:46 pm / takingbacksingle

You want what you can’t have

I realized that I have a tendency to like guys who have girlfriends. And it annoys the hell out of me. See I would never do anything with a committed guy, yet I think that maybe because he smiled at me, or talked to me a lot, he will leave his girlfriend for me. Which obviously would never happen. And even if he did, I would probably not date someone who was so quick to dump their girlfriend as soon as the next cute girl came around.

I don’t think this is too rare, anyways, it’s a human phenomenon to want what someone else wants. Because if another girl likes him, that validates the fact that he is indeed attractive, smart, funny, etc. Part of it is also the safety blanket, which really matters for people like me who are kind of scared of commitment. I think subconsciously, I know that nothing will ever happen, and therefore I guess I can like them more, because I’m not as freaked out about having to commit to that one person.

It’s hard to say really why I always to happen to like the taken guys. Part of it is that a lot of them mindlessly flirt with girls because they like the validation that they could have any girl they want, that they are still attractive. I previously wrote about my experience with a committed guy who constantly would play mind games and flirt with girls who really liked him without having any intention of leaving his girlfriend. They think they can have the best of both worlds but that’s not the way it works.

Anyways, I guess I’m trying to move past this. I’m writing this to promise myself that I’m not going to let myself like a guy if I find out he’s taken. It’s just not worth the time and disappointment.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. prettyiinpinkk / Sep 25 2011 3:23 pm

    Hey, I’m a new blogger, but I’m sure that you’re not the only person who is interested in taken guys. In my experience, guys tend to be more interested in me when I’m with someone else and when I’m single, they’re quick to stay in the friend zone. Anyway, I love that you’re real enough to say it seeing that many people are in denial that they want something just because someone else has it. Check out my blog at http://prettyiinpink.wordpress.com and let me know what you think!

    • takingbacksingle / Sep 26 2011 3:53 pm

      Yeah it always works out so weird. When you’re looking for a boyfriend, you can never find one, and then when you want to be single or are in a relationship, guys are lining up for you.

  2. typefashion / Sep 26 2011 4:01 pm

    Apt title, and such people never grow up and never really are fully happy !

    nice post 🙂

    xoxo\

    http://www.typefashion.wordpress.com

Trackbacks

  1. Midyear resolutions « takingbacksingle

Leave a Reply

