Skip to content
September 30, 2011 1:42 pm / takingbacksingle

Midyear resolutions

So yesterday was Rosh Hashanah, which is the Jewish New Year. After eating the customary apple slices dipped in honey, I was thinking about what a new year means to me. And that got me thinking about new year resolutions. I only ever made one and it was to start working out, which I did, but I wondered if making some goals could really help me out.

I think there is a lot of value in making resolutions, especially ones that deal with big issues you have been struggling with like low self-confidence and a bad body image. You don’t have to wait till January 1 to change your life, you can make a resolution anytime, and this moment seems a good time for me.

I want to be a more positive person.

This is something I have been trying for a little while now- to see the good in everything. Of course, it isn’t very easy, but I’ve found that just viewing things in a different light can make you so much happier. For example, if you just got a really bad cold, try appreciating that you’re a healthy person most of the time, that you aren’t sick with cancer or some other more serious disease. If the guy you like doesn’t like you back, try thinking that at least now you know he is not for you, and you can move on.

I want to be happy with what I have.

There’s always something that could make you more happy, a new wardrobe, a new boyfriend, new friends. You want what you can’t have. Well, even if you got all those things, that would still not be enough. Instead, I want to just be happy with what I have. Happy that I have friends who accept me the way I am, happy that I am healthy, happy that I have a loving family.Those always looking for the next better thing will never be happy. Happiness is about seeing what’s good and beautiful in your life and appreciating it.

I want to live in the moment.

So often I find myself thinking ahead- what will I do after college, what are my summer plans, who will I meet at that party a month from now. It’s good to plan ahead, but at a certain point, it’s also about enjoying what is happening to me now. What is future now will be past soon. I want to be open to what’s happening to me every day, not planning everything ahead.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. typefashion / Oct 3 2011 6:49 pm

    This post is so good, living for the moment is so important and a difficult task for some like me 🙂

    xoxo

    http://www.typefashion.wordpress.com

    • takingbacksingle / Oct 5 2011 12:19 am

      Yeah it is very hard for most people, that’s why resolutions are really helpful!

Leave a Reply

