Skip to content
October 12, 2011 12:24 am / takingbacksingle

Shocker: apparently no one’s waiting for marriage these days

I came across this article on CNN, titled, “Why young Christians aren’t waiting anymore” and it deals with the same issue as my post from a couple of days ago. According to CNN, young Christians are no longer waiting for marriage to have sex. I guess I’ve started a trend…

Well, first of all, I don’t think this is news per se, maybe it’s just that people aren’t forced to marry after having sex like in our grandparents’ generation. My first thought is why do these people care? But I guess I’m also not a Christian, so maybe from that perspective it has a more significant meaning.

At the end of the article, the author asks what pastors should do to deal with this problem. Maybe they need to rethink their stance. I don’t think this trend is reversible, just as gay people will not disappear if you pray enough… Sex is a big driving force in human behavior, and this fact just needs to be acknowledged.  My thought is, let’s just move on with our lives already?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Natalie / Oct 12 2011 4:11 pm

    Hey There!
    It seems your title is incorrect though. I for one am waiting until marriage, I am fifteen years of age and am also a Christian. Therefore, the content in your post is not 100%.
    I read your previous post about waiting till marriage or waiting for love and I agree with waiting for love. But, that’s not what I want to do as I want to wait until marriage.
    Anyway, interesting research.
    Natalie x 🙂

    • takingbacksingle / Oct 12 2011 6:46 pm

      I didn’t mean for it to be taken literally- it was supposed to be catchy and convey the overall sense of my post. I’m sure there are still some people waiting for marriage, but it seems an overwhelming majority isn’t. Like I said in my earlier post, I respect those who want to wait, and it’s a personal choice. I don’t like the idea of wanting to make others feel bad about or try to change others’ choices, like this article is doing.

  2. teejrants / Nov 21 2011 9:22 pm

    Changing their stance so as not to alienate Christians who have ‘done the dirty deed’ would be a good idea. There is more to being Christian than ‘no sex before marriage’.

    • takingbacksingle / Mar 12 2012 12:28 am

      Agreed. There’s more to any person than his or her sex life.

Leave a Reply

